Fresh Air

Earlier in the week I went on an amazing road trip to Columbia, MO with the boys I take care of and my co-worker/partner in crime. It’s amazing how exciting it is visit a big town.

Living in a town with a population of 15,000 makes a trip to anywhere an exciting journey. We hit the mall to visit some bigger stores than Wal-Mart. It is absolutely ridiculous how wonderful Target is when you live 90 miles from it.

Next we hit Rock Bridge State Park.

This park is so much fun. It’s a 0.5 mile boardwalk through the woods overlooking caves.

The summer after I graduated college I worked for the Missouri State Parks as a media journalist and I was always dying to visit this park. Instead I covered several other parks that I’ll talk all about eventually. (Hang in there readers. I’ll share those stories soon enough.)

Next we stopped by the Columbia Public Library.

It is one of the most amazing public libraries I’ve seen thus far. I am a huge library dork. Architecture + 1000’s of books = bliss.

The Jose Vasconcelos Library in Mexico City, Mexico. Source: Huffington Post

Gorgeous.

Yale University Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Source: Unknown

This is the reason I should have gone to Yale. Six stories of rare books? Yes please.

Now, back to the Columbia Public Library.

I’m not the only one that loved it.

The road trip was a wonderful excursion. It was the breath of fresh air I needed.

But it’s always good to be home.

6 thoughts on “Fresh Air

Share Your Thoughts

