Hiking All Over the World

So far in my life I have been lucky to hike in some pretty amazing places.

When I was 18, my step dad and I attempted to hike the Yorkshire, England Three Peaks Walk which takes in the summits of Pen-y-ghent (2,276 feet), Whernside (2,415 feet) and Ingleborough (2,372 feet) all in one circular route. The walk is 24.5 miles long and takes in over 5,000 feet of climbing. Finishing in under 12 hours is a feat to boast and also admits you into membership of the Three Peaks of Yorkshire Club. My step dad, native of Yorkshire, is a member.

We made it up and down Pen-y-ghent and all the way to the second peak before admitting defeat for the day and grabbing a pint at the pub. On the plus side, we wandered off the path and found a beautiful waterfall.

When I was 22, I studied abroad in Greece and walked all over the country. Well maybe not ALL over but I walked A LOT. The first day I hiked to the top of the Acropolis in Athens.

A few days later I hiked up the Acro-Corinth in Corinth, Greece.

Conquering this mountain was totally worth it. The view from the top was unbelievable.

I also made it to the very edge of a Palamidi Fortress overlooking the Aegean Sea in Nafplion, Greece.

I think my favorite place to hike is my parents backyard though. It is 60 acres of woods, creeks, ponds, and nooks and crannies that I’ve been exploring since I could walk.

Yesterday I went on a 7 mile hike in my current backyard, Thousand Hills State Park. Okay, it’s not my backyard but it may as well be in this tiny town.

The weather was perfect. High 75. And the wind off the lake was glorious.

Japhy behaved amazingly.

David climbed a tree.

We stayed on course.

We played in a creek.

I even made it in a picture.

I can’t wait to move to find new places to explore. Nothing beats fresh air.

I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend! Do you have any awesome hiking stories to share?

6 thoughts on “Hiking All Over the World

    • I am definitely not a hard core hiker like your 6pack but I live in Northern Missouri, a pretty bad state for hiking. Luckily I have had the chance to go on some pretty awesome hiking trips outside of Missouri! I post mostly about crafts but will definitely post more hiking stories every few weeks. So check back for more!

  1. Pingback: Taking Care – Week 2 | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

