Job Wanted!

“Unemployment. 53% of 18-24 year olds are living at home again or never moved out of their parent’s house. 28% of 25-32 year olds have moved back in.”

I heard this on the radio yesterday and I think I’ve been hearing this on every possible news source since I can remember. The economy is bad but it seems that it is always bad. It’s not about finding a job. It’s about finding the job you actually want. For most people that doesn’t include almost all the available jobs.

I graduated in May 2010 with a Bachelor of Arts in Communication with an emphasis in Journalism. I tried out a multimedia internship after graduation that was amazing but not THE job I wanted. I was working for the Missouri Department of Natural Resources as a multimedia journalist. I traveled to several state parks to collect pictures, video, and interviews of the parks to create multimedia pieces for their new web sites. (Some of my work is below).

Battle of Athens State Historic Site

Long Branch State Park

Truman State Park

The job was awesome. I love hiking. I love traveling. I love taking pictures. I love talking to people. I loved the work and made a few awesome videos and took several awesome pictures. But I couldn’t help but think to myself at the end of the summer, “This really wasn’t the job for me….What’s next?”

News Flash!!! I just spent four years getting a degree and I don’t like the real world job?! Time to reassess.

Well it’s been almost two years now and I really want to use my degree. I’ve been working two amazing young men with developmental disabilities, I’ve been managing staff, hiring staff, making a schedule, and more which has given me some fantastic experience. But my next step is coming soon. So I’ve been trying to figure out what’s next. And here’s what I came up with:

Job Wanted for journalism major interested in: event planning, puppies, photography, cooking, crafts, sewing, hiking, woodworking, gardening, decorating, organizing, architecture, designing, writing, art, helping people, travel, dancing, reading, and more. How do you search for that job?!

So the hunt begins!

Share Your Thoughts

