Taking Care – Week 1

“Eat your vegetables”

“Use sunscreen”

“An apple a day….”

“Floss your teeth”

“Exercise and eat right”

“Enjoy youth now. It won’t last forever”

“Mother says…”

Throughout childhood I was constantly taught to eat right, exercise, take vitamins, etc. Essentially I was taught to take care of myself properly.

I started dancing (ballet, tap, pointe, character jazz, modern) at age 4 and managed to dance 40+ hours/week in high school taking care of the exercise requirement. I love vegetables! Broccoli, greens beans, corn, tomatoes…. I dare you to name one I don’t like except for brussels sprouts and cabbage. I am very fair-skinned so I take excellent care of my skin. I slather on copious amounts of sunscreen.

When I traveled to Greece 2 years ago I had sun poisoning and I definitely don’t want to revisit that fun. The extra measure? An umbrella! Dorky, I know. But it was totally worth it to avoid misery.

The problem is since I graduated college I have begun to have issues staying healthy. In college I walked everywhere and now I have to drive a car for work. I ate like a bird cutting down on calories (except for the Bud Light calories) and now I eat sporadically which is very bad. I also danced everyday in an on-campus club which is the best source of exercise for me. I’m a little lost at the gym.

I currently spend 40+ hours/week working, I eat on the go, I exercise when I have time, and I am lucky if I have time between cleaning, playing with my dog, working, crafting, blogging, or sleeping to worry about myself. Plus my boyfriend is over 6 feet tall weighing in at 150 pounds on a diet of anything he could possibly and a metabolism that is the speed of lightning. Suddenly I need to watch what I eat, take stock of my cardio exercise in relation to my calorie intake, be conscious of my daily vitamins and minerals, and much more.

I need to take better care of myself!

So I decided to take some more time taking care of me, which means I will be sharing my adventures, lessons learned, and expertise with you dear readers. Every Friday I will be posting recipes, exercise tips, homemade hygiene products, homemade cleaning solutions, time management suggestions, and more. I am going to try

Today I’m sharing my favorite new thing: smoothies!

All you need is: Frozen or Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Juice, Ice, and a Blender.

My favorite includes: ½ cup of Frozen Mixed Berries (Blueberries, Raspberries, and Strawberries), 1 Banana, ¼ cup of Vanilla Yogurt, ½  cup of Raspberry Lemonade, and 2 handfuls of Ice. Garnish with a strawberry.

1. Measure all ingredients. Note: estimating is acceptable.

2. Fill the blender.

3. Blend, garnish, and enjoy!

So simple. So pretty. So delicious!

I also like peanut butter, milk, bananas, and yogurt too. Delicious! Or try orange juice, strawberries, blueberries, and yogurt. You can be as creative as you want!

Happy Friday!

Please give me feedback on this idea. Anything you’d like to see? Anything you’re curious about that you want me to try for you? What healthy choices do you make?

2 thoughts on “Taking Care – Week 1

  1. Pingback: Refinishing Project | DownShannonLane

  2. Pingback: Taking Care – Week 2 | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

