Refinishing Project

I ate cereal at this table while I watched cartoons when I was little. I was caught trying to use it a footstool way too many times.

I colored at it. I spread out all my Algebra homework on it. I read all my teen girly magazines at it.

We moved when I was 14 and it was not lucky enough to find a spot in the living room. It came to live in my first place when I was 19. It moved 4 times in 3 years.

It’s taken a beat of a beating since my mom bought it as a newlywed about 30 years ago. I spilled green nail polish on it when I was 11. It’s been scratched. I let my friends play quarters on it a couple of times. (Sorry, Mom.) Drinks have been spilled on it.

It needs a new life. It’s ready for a new life.

It’s being somewhat reluctant though. The stain has been sinking in for years. It’s tired.

It’s actually quite beautiful. It’s been sitting under my nose for years and I think that I just took in its beauty. It’s elegantly shaped. It’s made of gorgeous cherry wood. I love natural wood.

Yes, I believe it is time for new life. Nothing too special. It just needs some love and care.

Stay tuned to see the finished project later this week. I will also be making some jewelry and continuing with my Taking Care Series.

I hope you’re having a good start to the week readers.

6 thoughts on “Refinishing Project

  1. Table is beautiful, so glad it is getting a facelift! I think I spend $20.00 on it from the Hammary showroom. Hammary is one of the furniture showrooms I worked in at the Dallas Furniture Mart in the early 1980’s. Nice furniture, ithe table was a showroom sample that they were getting rid of so I grabbed up a bargain. Can’t wait to see how it looks.
    love you , mama

  2. Pingback: DIY Dog Bowls | DownShannonLane

  3. Pingback: Taking Care – Week 2 | DownShannonLane

  4. Pingback: Dreaming | DownShannonLane

  5. Pingback: Finally Done!! | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

