Taking Care – Week 2

According to the surgeon general, lack of physical fitness is detrimental to health. It is recommended for adults to engage in about 30 minutes of moderate daily exercise such as walking, biking, or running.

I happen to agree with Mr. Surgeon General. (How do you get that job? What an awesome title! New career goal.) So I’ve been exercising at every free moment.

We live about a mile north from a Conservation Department trail and it’s so awesome. It’s about .75 miles long, it’s quiet, taken care of well, and we can easily go everyday. We love it.

In addition to walking David has been personal training me. I’ve never had to use a gym since I danced my whole life and I am utterly clueless about all the machines. Luckily David does! He has me doing 50 push-ups and sit-ups for 3 days a week, 30-60 minutes of moderate to high intensity cardio for 5 days a week, and various weightlifting on days off.

To put that into perspective:

Sunday: Off. Long work day.

Monday: Warm up with 30 minutes of cardio. 50 push-ups and sit-ups.

Tuesday: Gym. Alternate between jogging and sprinting for 60 minutes. Stretch. Leg exercises.

Wednesday: Gym. Alternate between jogging and sprinting for 60 minutes. Stretch. Leg exercises.

Thursday: Warm up with 30 minutes of cardio. 50 push-ups and sit-ups.

Friday: 60 minutes of free choice cardio.

Saturday: Warm up with 30 minutes of cardio. 50 push-ups and sit-ups.

Now this list may look strenuous or it may look easy peasy. Well it is exactly right for me. I love being active but I also love not going crazy and this schedules fits naturally into my day without leaving me exhausted. It is definitely the best of both worlds.

My favorite on the list is the free choice cardio. As I’ve written about here and here, I love hiking. Whether it is with my curious little brother…

my work buddies…..

or my best friends. Nature is absolutely amazing especially with sidekicks!!

One thing is for sure, after all that exercise there is nothing better than a good nap.

Tune in next week for more healthy lifestyle advice from my “Taking Care Series” and for the big refinished coffee table reveal! Hope to see you then. Enjoy the weekend.

One thought on “Taking Care – Week 2

  1. Pingback: Dreaming | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

