Taking Care – Week 3

My whole life I have been a bit of a tomboy. I’ve always gotten along better with boys, I care to look presentable but I don’t wear makeup or do my hair, and I’ve always thought it was more fun to play outside in the dirt than inside with dolls. But I still have my girly moments. I like painting my nails, doing facials, and playing with my hair everyone once in a while.

So this week for my Taking Care post I decided to take care of my skin by doing homemade facials with a friend. It’s a fun way to keep your skin beautiful and it’s cheap to make them at home. There are two things I’m on board with!

Ingredients: 1 banana, 2 tsp honey, and 1 tsp yogurt

Mix all ingredients. Spread on face evenly. Leave until it dries. Rinse face with cool water.

This mask is great for keeping skin healthy. Bananas have lots of magnesium, iron, and vitamins meaning it’s restorative. It keeps your skin healthy and vibrant. Honey deep cleans pores by killing bacteria. If you can stand the stickiness this is a great face mask alone. Yogurt revitalizes tired skin. The lactic acid in yogurt smooths and exfoliate skin. Sounds pretty good, right? Revitalize, restore, and exfoliate!

My friend chose to make an avocado mask.

Ingredients: 1/2 avocado

Mash 1/2 an avocado. Apply evenly to face. Allow to dry. Rinse with cool water.

Avocados are great because they are packed with vitamins and natural oils that are great for skin. This is a good mask for people with dry skin, blemishes, scars, or sun damage because of the large amount of sterolin in avocado oil.

Japhy was very interested in why we were applying food to our faces and took every chance he could to lick it off.

While we waited for them to dry we ate delicious salads and fresh corn on the cob. My favorite thing about living in Missouri is fresh grown corn. It’s so cheap at the store, $0.30. It can be steamed, boiled, grilled, cut off the cob, and much more and it is always delicious.

Another favorite thing about living in Missouri: thunderstorms. I love watching thunderstorms. I love watching lightning. I love thunder. And I love watching it all outside on a porch with my boys. Japhy actually seems to like storms too. Especially when he gets to play outside in the middle of the night.

So this weekend take the time to spoil yourself with an easy homemade facial and while you’re at it you should do a whole spa weekend! Paint your nails, take a bubble bath, and trade a back massage with your significant other. There is nothing better than taking care of yourself and relaxing. Have a good weekend everyone! I’m off to do a manicure!

Share Your Thoughts

