DIY Chalkboard Pitcher & Summer Brew

Yesterday was one of those days. One of those days that is going extremely well and falls apart fast. I was having fun working, getting things done, then in 5 minutes it was ruined. Well not completely ruined but there was a significant bump in the day. So after the long day I came home to relax and have a nice, cooling summer drink: Summer Brew!

Want to learn how to make this delicious drink and the beautiful pitcher that it is in?

If you haven’t had this delicious concoction then you are seriously missing out. All you need is a couple of ingredients: 4 light beers, 1 can of pink lemonade concentrate, and vodka. After I filled my cart with my items I realized I did not own an adequate pitcher for my drink. So I bought this lovely $8 pitcher at Wal-Mart but, being the crafty person that I am, I knew it needed some personality. So out came the chalkboard paint!

I wanted to make a band around the middle but the pitcher’s shape was slightly A-line so I went for a nice band down the side. I taped off my desired spot and set to work painting.

I love this paint! It is so easy to use. I bought it to make this lovely project last month and now I find myself searching out projects to use it on i.e. this project that I thought up in about 5 seconds.

Now I am not an impatient person but I could barely wait for it to dry before I used it. So I only waited 30 minutes whereas the paint recommends a couple of hours. All the liquid is on the inside anyways! This just meant that I had to wait to draw on it.

I LOVE the outcome! It went from boring to fabulous!

Now, to fill it!

First, pour in your lemonade concentrate.

Next, rather than using water to make your lemonade, fill your can with vodka. If you want to lighten up the drink you can only fill the can 1/2 or 3/4 of the way. But I was going all out so I filled it all the way! You can use cheap vodka. I bought Strawberry Smirnoff because it was on sale but the vodka brand really makes no difference. Who can tell the difference between fancy vodka and bad vodka anyways?!

The final step is adding the beer! Pour them on in, try to clear away some of the foam, then serve!

It looks like a lot but it goes down very easily! So I know what you ladies might be thinking. I really don’t like beer!!! Well I love beer but the combination of all the ingredients makes for a deliciously foamy, lemonade drink that doesn’t really taste like beer at all. However, this drink does not save until the next day. Flat beer = bad. So get your friends together to help you drink it.

Want to make a lot for a summer party? Well you’re in luck because the recipe is easily doubled, tripled, quadrupled! And your guests are gonna love it. So if you’re looking for a cold drink to beat the summer heat I suggest you try this yummy summer drink! It’s pretty cheap to make as well. I spent $18 and I still have 2 extra beers!

Once we drained the pitcher I was able to try out the chalkboard and it looks amazing! I can’t wait to use it more throughout the summer!

Share Your Thoughts

