“Healthy Eating” Day 1

I just love this time of year when all the fruit and vegetables are fresh. There are vendors scattered about town selling food fresh from the vine. There are so many fresh choices at the grocery store because frozen veggies can be good but they are definitely not the same. I live in a rural area so a drive down the road presents fields full of yummy fruits and vegetables. My fridge is simply filled to the brim with yummy stuff.

All of this veggie goodness has convinced the boyfriend to take the plunge most men dread, to tell you the truth he’s actually probably dreading it, a week of meals with no meat! Now I am by no means a vegetarian but until moving in with David I only consumed meat at a couple of my meals a week. So for me it is definitely not a meal breaker if meat isn’t included and I am very excited about crafting up some delicious meals for him to try. At the store I bought several “David Approved” veggies: cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, okra, zucchini, avocado, grapes, lettuce, peppers, corn…. It is going to be an exciting week!

For lunch today I started with one of my favorites: a veggie sandwich!

When I was little I was obsessed with crafting sandwiches. I used to tell my parents that I wanted to be a sandwich artist when I grew up. To my dismay I eventually found out that sandwich artist really means fast food line worker unless I had the money to start my own sandwich shop. So for now I must keep the sandwich art in my own kitchen.

For this sandwich I spread cream cheese on the bread, added cheese, spinach and herbs, avocado, tomato, and olives. Super simple to stack and it disappeared fast!

Check back throughout the week see what I’m cooking up! I still haven’t chosen the meal for tonight. So I’m off to the kitchen to stare into the fridge!

Will David be able to stick to the challenge? See you later Down Shannon Lane.

One thought on ““Healthy Eating” Day 1

Share Your Thoughts

