“Healthy Eating” Day 3

Hi folks! Sorry for the break in healthy eating. Work, moving, and life in general have been crazy as of late on my end. Don’t worry though the challenge has continued! For day 3 we decided to go slightly unhealthy with our vegetable and made fried cauliflower!

Want to make your own?

Now I know what you’re thinking, “Frying your vegetables does not make them healthy, Shannon…” But I don’t care! When I was younger I always loved Mommy-Daughter lunches. I got all the attention, we could gossip about stuff my older brother was bored by, we shared yummy food, and who doesn’t love doing stuff with their mommy? Among our favorite lunch spots was the “The Marketplace.” It was a cute little cafe restaurant with delicious fresh food and our favorite thing to get was a cauliflower appetizer. When the restaurant closed we set out to recreate the recipe. It was lemony, lightly battered, and delicious. Sounds like a pretty easy criteria!

Marketplace Cauliflower – Prep Time – 15 minutes, Cook Time – 15-20 minutes

Ingredients: Bread Crumbs, Flour, Garlic Salt, Basil, Pepper, Milk, White Wine, Olive Oil, Parmesan Cheese, Lemon, Parsley, Capers, and Cauliflower

Disclaimer: I do not measure this recipe. Everything is just thrown together. Also, due to moving I didn’t have a couple ingredients so I improvised. For instance I didn’t have bread crumbs so I smashed up some croutons.

1. Make your batter with bread crumbs (or croutons), flour, garlic salt, basil, and pepper. Make enough for the amount of cauliflower that you have. Reserve about half of this mixture.

2. Mix about a cup of milk and 2 tbsp of white wine in another bowl.

3. Chop your cauliflower into small pieces. If you have a large head of cauliflower you can slice it in large 1/4 inch thick pieces.

4. I lightly batter my mine for frying in olive oil then place them on a paper towel.

5. Sprinkle on parmesan cheese, lemon juice, capers, and parsley.

6. Enjoy!

We enjoyed ours with salads.

See you later Down Shannon Lane!

Share Your Thoughts

