Down Shannon Lane Style: Day 1

Fashion has never really been important to me. I wear what is comfortable and what looks nice on my body. I do care about looking nice but in the past this has only required nice jeans, plain ‘ole t-shirts, some cute dresses, and jackets. I am OBSESSED with comfy jackets over plain t-shirts that I dress up with a fun necklace or scarf. This fashion philosophy works amazingly for me. Because of my simple philosophy, I really haven’t updated my wardrobe much since high school. (Hence, my recent urge to clean all “teen” clothes out of my closet.) So earlier this week I went on a fun shopping trip with my mom and we managed to find some fun new adult pieces to add to my wardrobe!

First off, I jumped on the colored jeans bandwagon. And, let me say, I am LOVING my new red jeans!

Outfit Breakdown:

  • Red Cropped Pants: Talbots (on sale)
  • Blue Sweater: Talbots (on sale)
  • White T-shirt: Target (on sale)
  • Necklace: Jamaica (from my best friend)

As you can tell, I LOVE sales! I wait to do most of my shopping during huge sales and I learned from the best: my mother. This particular trip started and ended at Talbots. Yes, I know, their regular prices are quite high but trust me, mom and I scored some awesome sales. They have huge sales about twice every year and they are SOOO worth it! Talbots makes very nice clothes that last, which I love. I don’t want clothes that fall apart after a couple of months. I still have Talbots clothes from 5 or 6 years ago that are in great condition after being worn hundreds of times.

I bought 3 pairs of cropped pants, 2 dresses, 2 sweaters, 1 jacket, and 2 nice silk shirts. Originally, this haul cost $893! That’s a lot of moolah that I don’t have to spend on clothes. All these pieces were marked down to $388.92. That is okay but we can do better! After being marked down, they were then placed on racks that said, “Additional 60% off sale prices!” Now we’re talking! In the end, we spent $167! I know, this is still a fairly decent amount but keep in mind that this was a huge update to my wardrobe with 10 new versatile pieces.

I will be sharing the rest of the new wardrobe as it gets mixed in with my current wardrobe the rest of this week and next week!

Disclaimer: I am not being paid to promote Talbots in any way. I just really like their clothes.

8 thoughts on “Down Shannon Lane Style: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Day 2 | DownShannonLane

  2. Sounds like we’re in the same boat. Did you just graduate college, too? I have way too many high school tops that just aren’t cutting it. Lots of graphic t-shirts ended up in the Goodwill pile in April. Sad but true.

    • I graduated a couple of years ago but I just recently moved away from my college town so it was the perfect time to start cleaning out my closet. I cleaned out several tube tops or shirts that were old and yucky from high school. I am so happy to have a much more mature wardrobe!

  3. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style | DownShannonLane

  4. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Date Night | DownShannonLane

  5. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Casual Work Outfit | DownShannonLane

  6. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Warm Winter Coat | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

