DIY Fabric Covered Lampshade

I hate overhead lighting. For some reason it gives me headaches. During our big move I left behind a couple of old lamps and now I’m very much regretting it. We only have 4 lamps. One in the living room, one in the office, and two in the bedroom. So I have been in search of new lighting solutions. I attempted to hang large bulb string lights in hopes that my living room would look like a beautiful parisian cafe. Well it turned out looking trashy and they started falling down after the first day. So I decided to search for a cute little lamp. Well, today I found the perfect one at Walmart on sale for $5 and I snatched it right up!

I really liked the tripod style. But I didn’t like the plain lampshade. So I decided to jazz it up! As with all projects I can’t do anything without the help of tiny friends.

First, I pulled 2 pieces of fabric from my remnant collection. Then I put my new lamp in place to choose a fabric.

But I couldn’t choose which fabric to use! I loved them both!

So, I cut my fabric to size.

Again, I did it with the help of furry friends. She was flying around the room!

I warmed up my hot glue gun and put the scrolly fabric on the inside and the flower fabric on the outside.

I was loving the outcome so far. Then I grabbed some brown bias tape from my sewing supplies to give the edges a nice, clean look.

This was such an easy project that only took about 20 minutes! I also had all the supplies, except for the $5 lamp, on hand so this project was cheap!

I am also loving that the inside of the shade is reflected on the glass of the table. This table is one of my favorite pieces of hand-me-down furniture in the house. My grandmother bought this table for her parents in the 1940’s with her first paycheck from her first job. It’s a beautiful table that cost her only $5. Nowadays, this table would be much more expensive because of the intricate details.

They look beautiful glowing in the light of the lamp.

This is so much better than the boring black and silver lamp that I bought for $5.

 Have you done any awesome lamp makeovers? See you tomorrow Down Shannon Lane.

2 thoughts on “DIY Fabric Covered Lampshade

    • I love the beautiful shades that you made! I bought a couple of yards of this fabric and I have slowly used it for fun projects because I love it so much. The lampshade project was so easy and fun! I would love to see how you transform a lampshade.

Share Your Thoughts

