DIY Compost Bin

I love almost everything about our new house. It has more charm than the last house. I like the layout more. I love the hardwood floors. The yard is fantastic. But I miss having a garage, a dishwasher, and, oddly the most important, a garbage disposal. I make a lot of meals with vegetables meaning there’s always scraps. So I used to throw things in the field behind our old house or put it down the garbage disposal. Well, simply throwing the old food in our backyard is not an option unless I want to attract lots of animals. So I needed a new plan. I recently pulled all the weeds in the front of my house and I’m going to plant some bulbs soon. Well I would love to have some nutrient-rich soil, made for free in my own backyard to use in my garden. So I decided to make a compost bin!

Want to see how I made my compost bin?

Materials Needed:

  • Storage Tub with a lid
  • Drill
  • Dirt
  • Leaves

1. I already had a storage tub and I also managed to find an old lid so this project was completely free for me! I cleaned up my bin and drilled holes in the top and bottom for aeration purposes.

2. Next, I filled the bottom with wet leaves and dirt from my backyard.

3. I started adding scraps. Both boys got haircuts today so I threw their hair in the bin along with food scraps from our dinner. After adding to the bin, I shook it around to mix it all up.

4. The final step was finding a spot to put it in the backyard. If I had not already had a storage tub then I wouldn’t have chosen bright pink but it was actually easy to conceal in my tree lined backyard. Now you see it….

Now you don’t!

Before I start this composting venture, let’s find out exactly what we can put in there. It’s pretty obvious that food scraps, stale food, egg shells, etc, are all clear. But what else can I toss in here to make soil that will enrich my garden?

  • Used paper napkins, torn up
  • Pizza boxes, ripped into smaller pieces
  • Paper bags, ripped or balled up
  • Nut Shells
  • Corks
  • Hair
  • Nail Clippings
  • Dryer Lint
  • Vacuum Contents
  • Receipts
  • Dead Houseplants
  • Paper, torn up
  • Pet droppings

That is a lot of stuff staying out of the landfill! Plus the full compost friendly items list is much longer than this short list I compiled. So ready to start composting! What is the composting solution in your home?

One thought on “DIY Compost Bin

  1. Pingback: DIY Painted Doormat | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

