A Little Paint Goes A Long Way

Phase one of my office update started with white paint. As I illustrated below, my redecorated office features bright colors with a white background or as an accent. So with my ideas in mind and my white paint purchased, I set out on DIY extravaganza that’s going to have a huge impact on my room design. Now what is getting a white makeover? A lamp, six frames, two candlesticks, and a desk chair. So with all the stuff I needed I began to get started and my mood board vision came to life.

OfficeInspiration

Read on to see all of the projects that I completed for on a $15 budget.

My grandmother’s best friend gave me a desk chair for my first apartment four years ago. I have recovered it once but I decided to give it a nice pop of color and to re-upholster the seat to give it a new life. With a grey and white theme in mind, I started by sanding the wood so I could repaint.

IMG_7388

IMG_7396

IMG_7400

Once my chair was sanded I painted my chair. Don’t worry, my paint-primer will cover the random stain spots that wouldn’t sand away.

IMG_7413

I love the crisp clean look of the chair with its white makeover.

IMG_7537

IMG_7539

Currently the seat is being re-upholstered so hang in there to see the full reveal tomorrow. Now let’s see what else got a beautiful makeover?

IMG_7403IMG_7407

My mother gave me this lamp when I moved into my first apartment in college. It had been in her house since I could remember. The black is a decent plain look but I hate the way that the huge black lampshade diffuses the light. So, I splurged and picked up a new lampshade at Lowes for $12 and picked up a $3 can of spray paint to start my DIY makeover.

IMG_7409I bought the Valspar spray paint at Lowes* and absolutely love it. I typically hate spray painting because the projects always turn out runny but the Valspar* paint went on perfectly smooth and dried fast. (*I am not being paid to promote Lowes or Valspar. I simply like the store and its products.)

Also on the white Valspar spray paint makeover train? I had all these other items hanging around my house waiting to pizazz a room.

IMG_7236IMG_7454IMG_7455

I purchased the frame below for $1 at a local Habitat for Humanity ReStore.

IMG_7474IMG_7476

IMG_7458

Check back tomorrow when I’ll reveal the last final touches on all of my white painted projects!

5 thoughts on “A Little Paint Goes A Long Way

  1. Pingback: Pops of Fabric | DownShannonLane

  2. Pingback: DIY Valance Curtains | DownShannonLane

  3. Pingback: Home Office/Guest Bedroom Reveal | DownShannonLane

  4. Pingback: Decorating on a Budget | DownShannonLane

  5. Pingback: Optical Illusion — Flor Carpet Tiles | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

