DIY Valance Curtains

An integral step in redecorating my new office is window treatments. If you remember, last week I re-upholstered my desk chair with a grey and white striped fabric that I bought for 20% off in a remnant pile. Knowing that I didn’t want to make full curtains, I was inspired by YoungHouseLove’s posts about making valance curtains here and here to make my own valance curtains in under an hour.

IMG_7677

Check out what I made.

I picked up two cheap cafe curtain rods for $3 each at Target. I didn’t want the rod to stand out so I chose a fairly small one.

IMG_7680

To make my curtains, I started out with 2 pieces of fabric measuring 32 inches by 45 inches. I decided it would look best if only half of the top window was covered. So I set up my sewing machine and straight stitched three sides then made a casing on the top seam.

IMG_7681IMG_7684

IMG_7686If you can sew a straight line then you can easily make these valance curtains. It only took me an hour to complete this simple project that has a great impact on my room. I love that they dress up the windows without drawing too much attention.

IMG_7687IMG_7690IMG_7692

They need to be ironed to look truly amazing but that’ll have to wait until I can go to my mom’s house this weekend. The next and final project of my office redecoration will be to make pillow cases for all the pillows on the bed. As you can see, I have already chosen my fabric and the project is on my weekend to-do list. Check out my other office decoration posts about my inspiration, painting projectsre-painting frames and using fabric to decorate.

As always, I hope to see you around Down Shannon Lane.

One thought on “DIY Valance Curtains

  1. Pingback: Home Office/Guest Bedroom Reveal | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

