The Race to my First DSLR Camera

IMG_7636

Not surprisingly, my interest in photography has turned from mild to obsessed! Last May, when my dad gave me his old Pentax K1000, I couldn’t wait to learn all about photography. I immediately began researching how to use the old film camera including all the technical terms, the number’s, and the art of taking a decent photo. Now, several rolls of “practice” film later, my piqued interest has turned into love.

IMG_0005 IMG_0008

The ability to capture beautiful moments of everyday life and the amazing world around me has sucked me in for good.

Screen shot 2012-07-05 at 8.30.42 PM

With that said, I’m now saving up for my very first DSLR camera!

Of course, having a “fancy” DSLR camera sounds awesome but they are expensive so I’m taking my time to search for the perfect camera for me at a price that suits me.  So far, I’ve already set aside $100 that I earned through incentives at work and I anticipate spending at least $500 (20% of the way there!). With that budget in mind, I’ve narrowed my choices to the Canon Rebel T3i or the Nikon D3100 because my favorite photography blogs, Under The Sycamore and Kevin & Amanda, recommend them for first-time DSLR users. Currently, I am leaning toward the Canon Rebel because I much prefer my current Canon point and shoot over the 2 Nikon’s that I have owned in the past. But that Nikon is definitely still a contender in the race.

So photographers, any advice? What lens should I choose? Where should I buy my camera?

One thought on “The Race to my First DSLR Camera

  1. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Warm Winter Coat | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

