Terrific Lady Day

When I was a kid, my biggest fear was turning 10 years old. Double the digits and double the responsibility? No thank you! I’m fairly sure that pop culture was already pushing its way into my psyche to not so subtly remind me that growing up sucks. It was never about adding another digit to my age, it was about realizing that I would soon be departing my childhood. Unfortunately, I had to “grow up” a little earlier than I would have liked so peaking at age 10 actually seemed likely to me. Obviously, the days inevitably passed and my 10th birthday finally arrived. To take my mind off of my silly fears my mom planned the perfect party at a pottery shop and it was awesome. So awesome that I completely forgot why I had been so nervous of growing up in the first place.

Dorky and apprehensive 10 year old Shannon.

Dorky and apprehensive 10 year old Shannon.

Now, fifteen years later, I am still feeling the apprehension of aging but this time it’s not because I’m scared of growing up. I’m worried about not living my life to the fullest, so I decided to start with changing each and every day. All this to say that last weekend David and I decided to enjoy special days devoted to each other. Case in point: Terrific Lady Day!

Terrific Lady Day comes from one of my favorite television shows, The League. (By the way, you are seriously blowing it if you aren’t watching this show. It is hilarious.) Basically “Terrific Lady Day” is a day all about what I want to do and when I want to do it. Who can resist that? I was ecstatic when David asked me to do our very own “Terrific Lady Day” and I immediately began planning my “perfect day.” It started with a little snow and some outside playtime with my snow-obsessed dog.

IMG_8277

In case you didn’t know, the perfect snowy play daye includes rolling in the snow like a maniac then racing around until you’re sleepy.

IMG_8275 IMG_8276 IMG_8281 IMG_8282

After warming up, David and I headed to Firehouse Pottery to paint for the afternoon!

IMG_8251

Last year I made DIY dog bowls for Japhy. I still love them but adding a kitten to our family meant more bowls. For the last 8 months, she’s been using plastic bowls and I have been wanting to DIY something for her. But instead of making two new bowls I decided to give one of Japhy’s bowls to Butters with the plan to paint a huge water bowl for them to share!

IMG_8252IMG_8258

IMG_8257

My adorably dorky boyfriend who once hated cats embraced our new addition even more by painting a tiny kitten figurine. Needless to say, his flawless paint job was noticed by several little girls in the shop that day. The figurine is identical to our little Butters.

IMG_8250 IMG_8256IMG_8260After painting, we left them at the shop to be glazed and fired. A week later I was very excited to pick up my finished pieces! The kitten turned out perfectly. David did an amazing job and said he can’t wait to go back to paint something else.

IMG_8297

The water bowl turned out perfectly. I wanted something plain, to match my DIY Dog Bowls, but I also wanted something with a little character to match my fuzzy friends’ big personalities.

IMG_8292 IMG_8294 IMG_8299Butters could hardly wait for me to fill her new bowls with food and water.

IMG_8300 IMG_8312I love them! What do you think? Have you ever been to a paint-your-own-pottery shop? Catch up with me on Wednesday to hear all about the rest of Terrific Lady Day!

One thought on “Terrific Lady Day

  1. Pingback: Down Shannon Lane Style: Terrific Lady Day Style | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

