The Many Reasons Why My Grandpa Is Amazing

When I was growing up, I was lucky enough to live only 0.5 miles down the road from my grandparents. They live on 70 acres of land that is best described as a kid’s wonderland. My mechanics-obsessed grandpa has a massive workshop filled with enough tools to make anything you could imagine. This is where I learned how to build things, how to shoot guns safely, how to make a cat dance, how to use power tools, how to nail a nail, how to saw a board, how to put a worm on a fishing hook, how to change oil, how to drive a tractor, and much more. My kid imagination was vastly endless and my grandpa was always up to any challenge. And he still is. So last week when I asked him to help me build a bench, I could barely give him the dimensions before he finished the project for me.

IMG_8423

I requested the new bench for my kitty. Since moving into our new house, I’ve wasted way too much energy keeping the cat and dog out of each other’s food. So I decided that a small bench would be the perfect solution to separate their food.

IMG_8425

My grandpa constructed this bench perfectly. I wanted it to tuck in nicely next to the fridge, I wanted it to be wide enough for Japhy’s bowls to fit underneath, and I wanted it to be tall enough for Japhy to eat his food underneath. He added the lip on the top edge to keep Butter’s bowl from tumbling off the shelf. The one thing he doesn’t do? Paint. So he left that part up to me. I chose a bluish gray semi-gloss paint-primer combination to paint the bench so that it could easily be wiped clean after a messy kitty meal.

IMG_8427 IMG_8430I painted several light coats because I wanted to see the wood grain through the paint. How did I keep my coats so thin? I wrapped a rubber band around the paint can to easily slop the paint off of my brush.

IMG_8429 IMG_8434This is a super easy trick and, as you can see, the wood grain is clearly visible through the paint. After three coats, I let it dry then put it into place.

IMG_8448

Don’t mind the ugly rug that clashes with the bench. I am in the market for a new one.

IMG_8452 IMG_8456 IMG_8457I think it turned out perfectly thanks to my amazing grandfather. And the pets definitely approve! Especially Butters, who is no longer sharing her food with the puppy. Thanks Papa Joe!

One thought on “The Many Reasons Why My Grandpa Is Amazing

Share Your Thoughts

