This Week’s Menu

Saving money is always at the very top of my list of “Must Do’s.” I’m sure everyone has a place in their budget where they could be saving more and spending wiser. Mine has got to be food. It is so easy to come home after a day of work, bury my head in a project and forget about dinner only to end up spending way too much eating out instead. While it’s often delicious, it’s expensive and typically unhealthy. So rather than accept this fate, I decided to force my self to change it. And what better way than with a DIY project? It all started with a small bulletin board that I got 7 years ago for college.

IMG_8860

This little guy has moved to 7 different houses and it’s featured favorite photos, artwork, fliers, maps, and much more. It’s remained very plain for years but this is the day for its big, fancy makeover! To start, I grabbed stickers, an assortment of scrapbook paper, mod podge, a clothespin, and a 3M hook from my craft supplies. So this project didn’t cost me anything!

IMG_8861 IMG_8862Using my stickers, I spelled out “This Week’s Menu” at the top of my board…

IMG_8864…then I used my Mod Podge to officially adhere the stickers and to add a simple border with my scrapbook paper.

IMG_8866

IMG_8868Finally, I cut up several sheets of my scrapbook paper which I’ll write the weekly menu upon each week then I added a clothespin to tack up my recipes for each week. I was left with a simple bulletin board that will be perfect for planning my menu each week.

IMG_8876 IMG_8877

Now, rather than spending $100 or more each week in food, we are saving money and eating healthy by planning a week of well-rounded meals.

IMG_8879 IMG_8881I adore the juxtaposition of the very feminine bulletin board hung below David’s very masculine pheasant in my kitchen.

IMG_8886

Tonight, we are loving these healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Muffins. YUMM!

IMG_8890

How do you plan your meals? Do you have a food budget?

Share Your Thoughts

