Decorating on a Budget

The first thing on my mind when considering a potential project is the budget. How much money should reasonably be spent on this project? How much am I willing to spend? Is this project really necessary? Is there a cheaper way? Admittedly, I have been obsessed with saving money my entire life. When I was a kid, my dad and step-mom gave all the kids $100 to spend at the mall for Christmas. Their only rule was that we had to spend all the money that day. Such an easy gift that every kid loves right? Nope, I agonized over my purchases and fought with them in an effort to get away with saving the money. I was worried that I would purchase one thing only to find something better. (I always spent it all on candy in the end anyways. Being a kid is awesome.) Now, a decade later, I still have the same problem — spend or save?. As I decorate my first home on a shoestring budget, I prefer to stick with simplicity for my decor. Using books and special trinkets that I’ve collected throughout my entire life, I’ve styled my bookshelves with pieces that make me feel comfortable. I would categorize my style as eclectic.

IMG_7881

All of my furniture is thrifted or given to me by family and friends. Since moving to our new home nine months ago, I’ve painted, mosaic tiled, and refinished tables, lamps, and chairs to achieve a style that is completely me using the change in my wallet and the awesome gifts from kind friends and family.

Redecorating my home office/guest room.

Redecorating my home office/guest room.

Here are a few rooms that constantly inspire me on my path to a beautiful yet practical home. Click on each photo to go to the source. Some are unknown.

Source Unknown.

Source Unknown.

Casually organized built-in bookshelves, traditional style with rustic flair, and neutral tones make this living room stand out.

Better Homes & Gardens

Better Homes & Gardens

This wraparound shelf draws your eyes up the stairs instead of cutting off the lower room with a plain wall. Beautiful and very unique.

Source Unknown.

Source Unknown.

Suburbs Mama

Suburbs Mama

I love that this room is surrounded in books and globes. A room to seek knowledge and study the world sounds perfect to me. My step-dad is a geography professor and we always give him globes as presents. I’ve always been jealous of it. I would love to start my own collection.

Better Homes & Gardens

Better Homes & Gardens

Unknown Source.

Unknown Source.

Incorporating plants is very important for health and morale reasons. I would love to go all out with a large indoor plant but I need to wait until my small kitten is a bit older.

DesignLoveFest

DesignLoveFest

SF Girl By Bay

SF Girl By Bay

If you can’t tell, I love built-in bookshelves. Unfortunately I will need to own a home before those become a reality. Fortunately I have beautiful bookshelves that my Papa Joe helped me build.

Better Homes & Gardens

Better Homes & Gardens

I know that these beautiful homes are far into my future. However, each room’s style, color combination, and arrangement are certainly within my current budget. What rooms are inspiring you? How do you plan your budget?

One thought on “Decorating on a Budget

Share Your Thoughts

