Pretty Perennials

You may remember my post about “Amping Up my Curb Appeal” last fall. I wrote about pulling all the weeds in my front garden but I didn’t tell you guys that I planted 100 bulbs after the weeds were pulled. Because the weather has been unseasonably cold here, I have been waiting on the edge of my seat for them to shoot up and bloom. That day finally came this weekend!

IMG_9121

 

Want to see how gorgeous my front yard is now?

When I pulled all of these yucky weeds last year I though a lot about what I would do with the blank space.

Curb Appeal Before and After

I thought that I might want to add more bushes but I have 4 bushes on the other side of the front door. My home is a rental though so I wanted to plant something low maintenance because most tenants neglect their gardens. What’s easy, low maintenance, and beautiful? Perennial bulbs! So, after seeing them on sale, I bought daffodil, crocus, and tulip bulbs for only $8. At four bags, the total was about 100 bulbs for only $8. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any “process of planting” pictures but, in my defense, it was pretty messy. With the help of my garden savvy mother, we arranged the bulbs with the tulips, the tallest, in the back and the crocuses, the shortest, in the front. Then, we filled in the empty areas with daffodils, of which I had the most bulbs. Finally, I waited 6 months for them to bloom….and bloom they did!

IMG_8999 IMG_9084 IMG_9117

Tips for planting perennials:

  • Timing – Plant when the soil has cooled but not frozen. End of September or beginning of October is best. 
  • Arrangement – Flowers look best in a varied, unorganized arrangement. Toss them on the ground and plant them where they fall. With that being said, I love, love, love rows of tulips, daffodils or daisies lining a garden.
  • Planting – Typically, it’s best to dig a hole twice the height of the bulb. For a 3 inch bulb, you’ll dig a 6 inch hole.
  • Pointy Side – Plant your bulbs pointy side up so they bloom straight out of the ground.
  • Mulch – Throw down some mulch between the plants to prevent weeds. (As you can tell I skipped this step. It’s not too late though. I’ll probably grab some this weekend.)
  • Water – Water when the soil is dry. Because of spring rains, watering perennials is typically unnecessary until summer.

IMG_9115 IMG_9120 IMG_9112 IMG_9125 IMG_9130

This is only a smattering of the 100 that I planted. I can’t wait to watch the rest bloom throughout the season! What are you favorite flowers to plant? Do you have perennials in your yard? How have you amped up your curb appeal without breaking the bank?

IMG_9132Did you notice my little pals staring at me through the front window? They’re so helpful.

IMG_9128

 

Share Your Thoughts

