Painted Terra Cotta Pot

I prefer to purchase plants that are going to be very difficult to kill. Not because I fear that I will kill them, I’m actually quite good at caring for my plants (thanks Mom!), it’s because, like most people, I don’t need one more thing to take care of everyday. After working, cleaning house, running errands, cooking, feeding all the mouths in my house, and taking care of myself, I don’t need to worry about watering the plants. So when I decided to add new plants to my home, I chose the most easy-going, low-maintenance plants that I could find. Enter succulents!

IMG_9531

I picked up these beautiful gems at Lowes with the help of my cute little puppy. (Did you know Lowes allows dogs in their stores? It is a super awesome treat for my little guy!) I had a few empty pots sitting around but my plain ‘ole terra cotta pot was in need of some major color!

IMG_9524I started with a fresh coat of white spray paint to cover the yucky spots.

IMG_9525Next I mixed up some bright blue using the last of some craft paints from my stash.

IMG_9526Then I painted it up in what I like to call a giraffe pattern. It was super easy, super fun, and, in my opinion, it turned out super beautiful!

IMG_9530Once painted, I dropped some rocks in the bottom for drainage and planted my succulents.

IMG_9536 IMG_9539The project only took an afternoon and it increases the healthy oxygen output in my home. As I mentioned in my “Taking Care of House Plants” post last year, it is important to have 1 plant for every 100 square feet in your home. These three little guys increase the health and happiness in my home making this afternoon project definitely worth it!

IMG_9544 IMG_9645 IMG_9647

3 thoughts on “Painted Terra Cotta Pot

Share Your Thoughts

