Cross Stitched State of Missouri

I have spent my entire life living in one state — Missouri. Nineteen years on one side and six years on the other. I dream about living all over this planet but Missouri will always be my home. So when I was choosing a subject for my most recent art project, I couldn’t help but choose my home state.

IMG_9761

Keep reading to see how I created my new favorite piece of art!

If you couldn’t guess, I have been crafty since I was a kid. I’ve always loved to create something beautiful. Cross stitching was one of my favorites as a kid. It keeps my hands occupied, it’s easy, it’s fun, and I always end up with something beautiful and unique. The downside? It takes FFFOOORRREEEVVVEEERRR!!! This 12X16 piece took about 60 hours. I started by sewing the Missouri outline then stitched row after row of different colorful patterns.

IMG_9230

IMG_9231Of course, none of my projects would be possible without an itty bitty helper.

0506132259a

I made up the patterns as I went and I chose colors to make it aesthetically pleasing. By the way, the fabric is actually for needlepoint but I used cross stitching techniques.

IMG_9753

The “T” stands for Truman State where I went to college, the little house symbolizes my family’s river cabin, and the heart symbolizes my birthplace and home, Springfield.

IMG_9755 IMG_9763My beautiful final piece is the perfect centerpiece for the gallery wall in my kitchen. After living in this house for a year, I decided that it was finally time to hang something over our table in the kitchen. Check back next week for the kitchen gallery wall reveal! Get excited! It looks awesome!

IMG_9753

3 thoughts on “Cross Stitched State of Missouri

  1. Pingback: Eclectic Gallery Wall | DownShannonLane

  2. Pingback: DIY Paint Swatch Chandelier (Project Re-Do) | DownShannonLane

Share Your Thoughts

