Eclectic Gallery Wall

Perhaps one of my biggest foes in my sweet little rental house is one wall. One big, huge wall begging for some character and love.

IMG_9678It’s been empty for so long because I didn’t have the perfect art to hang there. Rather than hang an unwanted placeholder, I waited until I had a gallery wall just like those I’ve been drooling over on my Pinterest.

Screen shot 2013-08-20 at 7.17.56 PM Screen shot 2013-08-20 at 7.17.05 PM

Screen shot 2013-08-20 at 7.17.31 PM

Keep reading to how I used this inspiration to create something amazing in my own home!

What I love about all of my Pinterest inspiration photos is the diverse colors, frames, art, and mediums. Lucky for me, a family friend recently gave me a plethora of frames in different sizes and colors. With frames checked off my list, all I needed was the artwork! I knew that I wanted a decent variety of art, posters, pictures, and colors on my wall. Even better, I knew that I wanted this prominent wall in my home to represent its residents big and small. So I gathered photos of my pets, Batman and Harry Potter posters (David and my favorites, respectively), my framed cross-stitched Missouri, favorite paintings by a family friend, baseball paraphernalia, and a painting of my own even made the cut.

IMG_9675What I loved about my inspiration photos was that the art was not hung precisely. So rather than measure my frames and wall to hang things perfectly, I decided to go for it! No measuring!

IMG_9679To hang everything, I used a combination of nails and 3M velcro strips.

IMG_9680

Before I knew it, everything was hung and I love it!

IMG_9741 IMG_9750 IMG_9745 IMG_9768

I even moved my DIY Chalkboard to the kitchen table to complete the low corner.

IMG_9746

I absolutely love the character that this easy change brings to my home and I can’t wait to add more art to this wall over the years! What do you think of my awesome wall?

Share Your Thoughts

