A Dab of Paint Here…

With little extra money to spend on projects and updates around my tiny bungalow, I have been sitting on my hands for the past few months ignoring the creative thoughts in the back of my head. See, I am one of those people that is constantly surrounded with possible projects. Others, a.k.a. my boyfriend, may not notice these small projects but they’re all I can think about. So, to satiate this desire, I decided to complete a few simple projects using supplies I already have! Meaning I didn’t have to spend any money plus all three projects only took an hour to complete!

BrightAccents

First, I had my sights set on a framed mirror from my high school bedroom. (It’s the brown one on the left below. My gung ho project excitement made me forget to take a good before picture so I had to rely on this old pic from our move-in.)

IMG_5440

The mirror was originally white but I painted it brown a few years back so it would stand out on the white walls of my old apartments. In our current home, the tan walls made the mirror look very drab so I decided to paint it white again but I threw in a pop of color just for fun!

IMG_9829 IMG_9832 IMG_9839 IMG_9849

It’s fun, it’s bright, and it’s a bit unexpected! Love, love, love!

IMG_9850 IMG_9851

Second, I had my sights set on my plain ‘ole wooden coasters that had seen way better days. I bought them 5 years ago for my first apartment in college but after 5 years they were covered in water stains, sticky booze, and who knows what else. For their face lift I chose blue, orange, and white paint to give them a whole new identity. (I forgot to take before pictures but they were originally a light bamboo wood.)

IMG_9884 IMG_9854

This simple project was the quickest to finish. I simply slathered three coats of paint and a coat of lacquer on each coaster and called this project complete! I love how they look next to David’s colorful comic books.

IMG_9855 IMG_9890My third project was fueled by my need to be more organized. I don’t know about you but I never remember what day I last vacuumed, watered the plants, washed the sheets, etc. So I decided it was high time I started keeping notes to clean/complete things more efficiently around our house. To record my notes, I whipped out an old white board from college and a handful of Sharpies to embellish my little beauty.

IMG_9880 IMG_9881It adds color and fun to my plain ‘ole fridge. I love it! Now, if only I could get the board to do the chores for me…

So there you are, three fun projects that only took me 2 hours to complete using supplies I already had on hand! It’s definitely satisfying to keep my money in my wallet and spruce up my home at the same time!

One thought on “A Dab of Paint Here…

Share Your Thoughts

