DIY Painted Claw Foot Stool

Thanks to great family and friends, I am constantly on the receiving end of unwanted furniture. My newest addition? This adorable claw foot piano stool that was oozing with character but lacking in wow factor. Since I am always on the lookout to save money, I decided to spend $0 and one afternoon completing my makeover.

StoolB&A

Read on to see how I completed this easy makeover without spending any moolah!

With a love for painted furniture, I knew my biggest decision would be the paint color. Thanks to Valspar, that choice was easy. Using a coupon for a free 8 oz. sample of paint from their fall collection, I picked up the beautiful Belle Grove Sorbet Valspar paint at Lowes.

IMG_9926

IMG_9919Whatever I am doing, my little puppy is never far away.

IMG_9917

Paint chosen, my next decision involved the wooden seat and claw feet. I wanted to maintain the original integrity of this beautiful piece of furniture. So I chose to leave the feet unchanged along with a simple application of wood stain to the seat. Luckily, I had all those supplies leftover from my Coffee Tables Refinishing project that I completed 2 years ago. Still spending $0!!!

IMG_9927

First, I pre-stained the wood and removed the claw feet. Luckily, I had the forethought to mark each foot and leg for an easy re-assembly.

IMG_9922 IMG_9924

Next, I painted the base Valspar Belle Grove Sorbet.

IMG_9928

As that dried, I stained the seat with my wood finish. Finally, I added a second coat to the base and waited patiently for everything to dry. I was able to apply the polycrylic 8 hours later. Happily I placed my new stool in my window, added a potted plant (inspired by my last DIY project), and have since been admiring my handiwork (along with my furry friends, of course).

IMG_9935 IMG_9932

IMG_9955

IMG_9943 IMG_9953

I absolutely love the modern paint job coupled with the beautiful antique claw feet! And I adore how the dark stained wood compliments the light mint paint.

IMG_9941

The paint is much more mint colored in person. But it also looks white in certain light.

IMG_9946 IMG_9954 IMG_9939

Have you updated any furniture with a bit of paint lately? Share!

Thanks to Karen for giving me this stool!

3 thoughts on “DIY Painted Claw Foot Stool

  1. Pingback: Do It & Review It

  2. Pingback: Do It & Review It – DIY Stools

Share Your Thoughts

