Greek Key Pattern Roman Shade

Early last year I finally solved one of the biggest issues with our tiny rental bungalow: privacy. Our house has one huge 5×5 bay window in the living room that we absolutely love. It lets in wonderful light and offers the perfect spot for our pets to lounge but the mini blinds and roller blinds that came with the house left something to be desired. One custom roman shade later and the problem was solved! Or so I thought….

IMG_8608

Although my roman shade was functional, it was still an eye sore. Barely an upgrade from my stained roller blinds and mini blinds. The canvas drop cloth was wrinkly and just plain boring. Still, I decided to live with it for a few months to choose the perfect embellishment. I really wanted to love the finished product. Well, almost a year later, I finally fancied up the shade and I could not be happier with the final product!

DSCF0448

 

 

Keep reading to see how I added a Greek key pattern to my custom roman shade for only $4!

Supplies:

  • Stitch Witchery
  • Grosgrain Ribbon
  • Iron
  • Damp Rag
  • Measuring Tape

IMG_0017

First, I removed my shade from the wall and ironed out the wrinkles.

IMG_0018

I cut eight 3 inch sections of ribbon and four 6 inch sections to construct each corner pattern. The remainder of my ribbon was used at the top and sides. One 18 foot roll of ribbon was more than enough.

IMG_0021

I cut equal lengths of the stitch witchery and laid out my pattern. Placing the ribbon beneath the damp rag, I ironed on the ribbon to create this simple, elegant pattern while taking time to dodge the dowel rods with my iron.

IMG_0022

 

Finally, I re-hung the shade and admired my work. And I’ve been happily admiring it ever since. It just adds the perfect accent to my awesome custom shade! I love it! David loves it too. He says that it’s his favorite project I’ve done thus far. Yay for that!

IMG_0023 DSCF0446 DSCF0444DSCF0449Don’t mind the mess in your front yard. The city is putting a sidewalk on our side of the street creating a veritable mess of sticks and mud in our front yard.

DSCF0441

One thought on “Greek Key Pattern Roman Shade

  1. Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a
    theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!

Share Your Thoughts

