DIY Paint Swatch Chandelier (Project Re-Do)

So I messed this one up guys. It’s taken me a year to admit but it happened. I made a DIY blunder. One of those it-seemed-like-a-really-good-idea-in-my-head kinda things.  Allow me to elaborate….

IMG_8634

A few years ago, a friend gave me some craft supplies that she knew I’d love. With those supplies — tiles, an old colander, paint, embroidery thread — I created some of my absolute favorite pieces in my home, my mosaic tableresin mosaic lampembroidered art, and diy chandelier to name a few. The latter is the flub that received a new makeover most recently. From very ugly DIY Chandelier to DIY Paint Swatch Chandelier!

DSCF0687

In my head, I envisioned something shiny and beautiful, not necessarily fancy but definitely not this ugly, perhaps something similar to fish scales. My completed project definitely didn’t fit that vision but I had spent hours on end punching circles, gluing string, and tying knots and I hated for all that time to go to waste. So I hung it up, stood back and frowned, then pretended to ignore the elephant in the room for the next year.

IMG_5732

Well I happily cut away the strings last week to try for another creative vision. I decided an ombré style chandelier would bring interest to that high corner. I just hoped it wouldn’t be as ugly as my first chandelier.

DSCF0579 DSCF0591

Aiming to spend $0 to fix my ugly eyesore, I created this project with paint swatches, string, and mod podge. I already had the string and mod podge on hand so I simply had to pick up the paint swatches at Lowes, Walmart, Home Depot…anywhere that I saw orange swatches that would match my throw pillows and art.

DSCF0592

DSCF0593 DSCF0597

This project was so simple! Much less time-consuming than my first one. It only takes seconds for mod podge to dry to I easily churned out my ombré strands one by one.

DSCF0598

DSCF0689


DIY Paint Swatch Chandelier

    • Paint Swatches (I grabbed all the orange ones I could find at Lowes)
    • String
    • Mod Podge
    • Popsicle Sticks
    • 1.5″ Circle Punch (any size will work)
  1. I used my circle punch to cut out approximately 40 circles. I chose orange swatches to subtly match my throw pillows, favorite books scattered throughout the room, and favorite art pieces hanging nearby.
  2. Arrange your circles in a 6 piece ombré pattern.
  3. I glued the dots together with mod podge and a long string between to make strands. I made 14 strands with 6 dots each and 8 strands with 2 dots each.
  4. After allowing them to dry, I strung them onto my funky antique colander.
  5. Using ribbon, I hung it from my ceiling hook.

DSCF1126DSCF0690 DSCF1129

Share Your Thoughts

